Housing Zone Inspector/Code Compliance guy came to my house

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In
PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 2:46 pm
Well I guess I need to vent somewhere... I’m a bit outraged!!

I'm in my 3rd year of doing a full restore to my 87' E30, body is on a dolly- kinda restore. I got a notice on my door the other day from the Housing Zone Inspector/Code Compliance Division of Seattle. I had an un-named compliant from a neighbor. Compliant said I had an on going “autoshop”, noise, dust and fumes.

I returned the call and two days later I the inspector come over for a full inspection. I work on this car in my garage about 20 hours a week and only between 9-5 during the day- most the time it’s between 11am-5 pm at best and never on the weekends. If the weather is nice I often keep my garage door open (spring/summer)when working. Sometimes I don’t do work for weeks at a time- sometimes months at a time. I also did a break job; the timing belt/water pump/oil change on my other E30 in the driveway two weeks ago- had it up on jacks with the hood off for about four-five days. I store two sets of jack stands and two cheap floor jacks and a few blocks of wood in the driveway. I work on no other cars at my house and I do no engine “revving” or testing. Some grinding, sanding- yes… but as of date no paint or fumes to speak of.