Professional Painters

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 11:18 pm
All u guys that paint for a living at a collision repair shop, what do u do on a day to day basis?

do u guys do alot of blend jobs? what does it take to become a painter?

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 11:28 pm
TecknikalSupport wrote:All u guys that paint for a living at a collision repair shop, what do u do on a day to day basis?

do u guys do alot of blend jobs? what does it take to become a painter?

I'm a head painter in the shop. I started as a bodyman and did lots of body work and then when our former headpainter quit his job my boss offered me to be the head painter. As a headpainter in the shop all I have to do is wait for the 'ready to paint' car. And yes I do a lot of blending. Outside the shop I do fiberglass for speakers and such (i make pretty good money for this side line.hehehe)
I'm a newbie

Settled In
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:52 pm
where can i find info. on blending?

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 10:31 pm
Yes, blend everything, be sure to have good equipment, yes you can blend mettalics with cheap guns but it will be much easier with good equipment, go to performancecoatings.dupont.com look for the tech manual, go to basecoats, go to special proceedures and you will find info on blending, understand blending is a s subjective as art, ask 10 guys and get 10 ways to do it, just listen to everyone and try everything and figure out what works for you

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:47 pm
TecknikalSupport wrote:where can i find info. on blending?

It's not that hard to blend but tinting the paint to match the OEM finish is somewhat challenging. You kinda have to learn how to play with the paint formulas.
I'm a newbie

No Turning Back
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 2:26 pm
BLENDING VARIABLES